Little Visitors

I stepped out into the woods and instantly felt my spirit soar. Beauty surrounded me on every side and peace filled my entire being. There’s nothing quite like a connection to nature to feel a connection with God.

I took it all in. The colors, the trees, the smell of fall (and a faraway scent of spaghetti), the crunch of the leaves beneath my feet, and the soft ground that gently gives way.

I was in a wedding dress. Not my own. It was from a thrift store, like most of my photography wardrobe.

I set up and began shooting. Then I looked up.

Lo and behold, I had some visitors.

turkeys

A flock (Is that the right term? Ah, whatever, I’m going with it.) of turkeys made their way up to me. It was like they knew I was there and had just come to observe. (Is it horrible for me to admit that a turkey dinner sounded really good?)

The thought of being alone in the woods and then suddenly realizing you’re not is pretty frightening. But I found this to be a little more comical.

turkey

The turkeys hung around for a bit. Communing with one another, walking around, just checking the place out.

Then, out of nowhere, they started flying into the trees. One at a time. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen or heard a turkey fly, but it’s pretty amusing.

In that moment, I realized, this is one of those things you can never recreate, can never relive. I am so thankful and blessed to be doing what I am.

As an INFJ it’s sometimes hard for me to live in the moment. I’m so preoccupied with the future that I seldom sit back and enjoy where I’m currently at. Tonight was one of those rare moments for me where I fully embraced the moment I was in.

It’s definitely an area of improvement for me. It just took a group of turkeys, a wedding dress, and a forest to remind me of that.

Leave a Reply

