Sunday Afternoons

Sweet_TeaAh, sweet tea and sunshine. There’s nothing like the two of them to lift spirits and brighten one’s day.

I look forward to a busy week ahead, brainstorming and editing, allowing my mind to go wild inside itself for whatever is to come my way. For the time being, I’m content in the peace of my own mind, not worrying about what is to come. (Okay, not 100% true, I’m definitely thinking about things to come.)

A day of rest and relaxation is so beneficial to the functioning of one’s mind. It’s a time to decompress, and clear out all the unwanted garbage, to clean the slate and start over again.

I have a meeting with someone later on this week. I can’t help but feel a little nervous about it. I find myself mulling it over in my mind, afraid of what may come. I’m increasingly realizing just how frightened I am at the idea of anyone seeing me for, well, me.

On one level, I want to be known, on another, I’m scared. For whatever reason, I’m so afraid of another’s rejection if I reveal my true self to them. I suppose it’s my own insecurity talking. If I can’t accept me, then how on earth could anyone else?

I’m learning. It’s a continual process, and I’ll always have something I need to work on. That’s a good thing. It means I’m always growing. Never stagnant. I don’t ever want to become stagnant.

For now, I’m trying not to worry, just enjoying the quiet of a lovely Sunday afternoon.

Leave a Reply

