Deadlines Are Creeping

Photo Credit
Photo Credit

Mmm… Chex with peanut butter and jelly. I’m eating it out of a ziplock bag with a plastic fork because, well, I didn’t want to dirty a bowl.

Sometimes I’m amazed at human laziness, my own included. Oh boy, NaNoWriMo is going to be interesting. I can do it though. I think. That’s all that really matters anyway, right? The power of the mind.

I think I’ve finally figured out what I’m going to be writing, though I have no idea what to call it. I’m still not 100% sure though. I guess I really need to get on that one.

I don’t get along well with deadlines.

Let me just start out by saying that I am very good about meeting them. While I was in school, I was homeschooled, I would sometimes get all my homework finished a week before it was due. Then, there were also those times where I’d have a mad rush the day before, or the very same morning, that an assignment was due. I always got it done though.

So deadlines aren’t a problem for me in the sense of meeting them. I do meet them. I just don’t like them very much.

Deadlines stress me out. I like having time to just do my own thing at my own pace to see where it goes. My mind sometimes locks on a topic and I can be really productive on that one task, but, if I were to switch, forget it. Nothing would happen and I’d just get frustrated because I have something else I want to focus on, and I couldn’t manage to focus on the task at hand.

That being said, there are times I’m good at forcing myself to buckle down and do something if I really need to.

I hear the clock ticking. I don’t have a clock in my house, so that’s a rather disturbing concept. Kinda sad, really, I like clocks.

For some reason, deadlines, even small ones, seem to paralyze me. I know that’s something I need to work on. I guess it comes down to living more in the moment. I’m terrible at that. Too focused on the future to care about the things I have when I have them. I hope I can get that under control before it destroys me.

Inferiors. Se. Pesky little devil. I still have a post about them that I will (hopefully) be posting soon.

I have a deadline that I hear creeping closer. Hidden in the shadows even though he’s made himself known. Time to face it head on I suppose!

Enjoy your afternoon!

Leave a Reply

