Need To Save

Save

Ouch. This one hits close to home. As an INFJ, I feel the need to save everyone from everything, including themselves. I’m learning to let go, but it’s still something I’m struggling with and working on.

I need to find that balance and the middle ground where I can offer support and guidance when it’s asked for, without going overboard with it.

Discernment. That is what I’m praying for.

I’ve come to realize that some people are set on destroying themselves no matter how much I try to prevent it. I need to value myself enough to not allow it to get to me. Sometimes it’s like this painting.

LEVI WELLS PRENTICE (American, 1851-1935) Apples spilling out of a basket.
LEVI WELLS PRENTICE (American, 1851-1935)
Apples spilling out of a basket.

I only have so much to give. If I allow others to overwhelm and consume me, it only ends up emptying me of my resources. Then I don’t have enough to give to those I do have the ability to save.

By striving after those who are bent on destroying themselves, I’m doing a disservice to God, to myself, and (although I’m still trying to learn this) to others.

I’m then left feeling hollow and empty, with nothing to give, having wasted all that God intended for me to use for good. Feeling the weight of wasted potential, berating myself for how little good I’m doing in the world.

I’m coming to terms with it and learning to embrace all that I have the potential to be, instead of crying over spilled milk (or apples, in this case). It’s a tough lesson to learn. I’m focusing on trying to be the best version of me that I can be, and sometimes that means allowing myself to not feel bad for other people’s actions.

Do any of you struggle with letting people go? If you’ve overcome it, do you have any tips that make it easier?

2 thoughts on “Need To Save

  1. Meditation, yoga can help to gain self-awareness and consciousness, which helps you to accept the fact that the people you let go are gone. When you accept that fact, go out, reach out to the world and connect with others. Healing process will begin and a new chapter of life will starts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your encouragement. 🙂 That definitely sounds like a good idea. Self-awareness is such an important thing, sometimes the path is a little more difficult.

      Like

Leave a Reply

