It’s The Little Things

Mint_Tea

Today, I’m thankful for breakfasts. This morning mine consisted of an omelet and spearmint tea.

I have a tendency to overlook the details, I’m trying to do better about that. I have times where something really stands out to me, and that’s the only thing I notice.

I’ve even had times when I’ll check my phone for the time, and only pay attention to the picture I have set as the background, without even noticing the time, which is what I set out to do.

I want to appreciate the little things in life, whether it’s a beautiful day, or a simple conversation, a moment of encouragement, or anything else that I might take for granted.

Last night, for instance, my husband and I were out walking. The moon was bright, casting long shadows through the trees, the air was that of a silent winter’s night. The only thing missing was snow.

We sat down on the edge of the forest, talking quietly as we looked into the shadows and up into the sky. It was a beautiful moment. A moment that inspired a total rewrite of everything I was doing for NaNoWriMo.

I’m thankful for that.

I now have a new idea, and sure, it set me back a couple thousand words to start over, but I like the new story that has emerged.

It’s amazing how God will place little things in our life that inspire greatness. I’m not saying what I’m writing will be anything great, I really cannot say anything about that. But what I am saying, is that God takes little things, and turns them around to be something with so much worth, significance, or value than we would have ever given them credit for.

He does that with us too. No matter how broken or low we seem to have fallen, He’ll reach down, pick us up, and whisper to our hearts, “It isn’t over yet.”

Just because we’re currently facing a difficult time in life does not mean we’ll be stuck there forever. Though it’s hard to see a way out while you’re in the midst of your darkest night.

God has plans for us that far exceed anything we could ever imagine. That, to me, is wonderful. It’s so encouraging, so inspiring.

That was a very long way to say, I’m thankful for the little things, the small moments that lead to bigger things down the road.

5 thoughts on “It’s The Little Things

Leave a Reply

