Second Chances

Image Credit
Image Credit

Today, I am thankful for second chances, that each day brings new opportunities and new possibilities, and that we don’t have to be defined by our pasts.

Every new day is a chance to start over. There may have been things we’ve done that we can never take back, but we don’t have to be defined by those bad choices.

We were made to be so much more than an echo of our pasts. The thing that matters most is not how much wrong we’ve done, but that we’ve learned from it, and have enough self-awareness to acknowledge that it’s wrong.

That doesn’t always mean that it will be easy. No. Sometimes when we’ve fallen it will be a struggle to stand, what’s important is that we do.

I’ve allowed myself to be defined by some things that I don’t feel accurately represent me, my motives, or who I want to be. I’ve allowed other people’s negativity to infect my mind. And, let’s be honest, it is an infection.

It’s not going to change overnight. There is no quick cure. But what I do believe is that I don’t have to fight this battle of negativity and depression alone. God will walk beside me every step of the way.

I don’t have to give into the darkness, I can be the light. I don’t need to allow the darkness that surrounds me to define me. Neither do you.

We are so much more than this. A city set on a hill. How can the light shine without darkness? Light can spread light, and keep other light going, but the only way it can stand out is in the dark. That’s when it’s most needed.

Today I’m thankful for light, that the light shines brighter than darkness.

2 thoughts on “Second Chances

Leave a Reply

