All That I Fear

I find that when I’m stressed and overwhelmed, every tiny bit of clutter just stresses me out more. You’d think that I’d keep my house a bit cleaner than I do with this being the case, but I don’t.

It’s not horrible, I suppose, I’m just ultra sensitive to it sometimes.

Was That Really MeI have a feeling it’s probably related to my inferior Se. I’ve really been wanting to get Was That Really Me, but I have yet to get around to it.

I love learning new things about myself  and those around me. It helps so much to put everything into perspective.

Insight and understanding. That’s what it is.

Anyway, when I’m stressed, I have a hard time focusing on any one subject. Maybe everyone’s like that. But I find myself refreshing pages over and over again, somehow expecting that they will change.

Then it’s just a downward spiral from there because I know I’m just wasting time when I have too much to get done. Which is often why I’m stressed in the first place, so it just exacerbates the problem.

There are, however, certain things I’ve learned about myself that help in overcoming the crippling stress.

1. Realize that most things that are weighing on me either won’t matter in the distant future (say, ten years from now) or, if they will, it’s still something that is only momentary, it will all work itself out. I just need to either get used to it, do it and get it over with as quickly as possible, or realize that I have to be patient and just wait for it to work itself out. It’s not worth worrying about something that I have no control over, then it’s done and I don’t have to worry any more.

2. Take a moment to step away from the chaos and the noise of everything that is pressuring me. Often, all I need is a little break to regroup and then I can approach the issue with a much better attitude.

3. Music. If it’s something that I can do while listening to music, that usually helps tremendously. Of course, the type of music will depend upon my mood, and if it doesn’t line up, it can be even more grating. So it’s all about finding the right fit.

4. Write out a stress list of everything (and I mean every little thing) that is weighing on me. Or talk with a close friend about it. But I figure that I’d be wasting the time anyway, so it’s better to invest that time in something that will result in more productivity later on. From there, pay attention to little things that might be bothering me, and do a quick fix. Sometimes it can be as simple as grabbing a snack or a glass of water.

5. If there’s time, take a walk. Walks are a wonderful way to chill out and start over.

Do you have any techniques for dealing with stress? If so, I’d love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “All That I Fear

  1. Good self-care techniques here! I find that exercise or ballet helps switch my mind off for a bit. Reading an engrossing book takes me away from my worries. Breathing and meditation help me focus on the here and now. Sometimes though, nothing seems to work and it takes a therapy session or blogging or just time to be less stressed out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

