Gratitude

Image Credit
Image Credit

As I’ve gone through this gratitude challenge, I’ve really come to realize just how important being thankful can be. Gratitude is one of the best things to have and maintain a positive attitude. It’s amazing what a difference it can make.

There are times that I struggle with it because I’m just having a rough day, other times that I struggle with it because I’m thankful for anything and everything that I have and have been given. But it’s really important to be able to maintain that attitude of thankfulness in the good times and in the bad. No matter how bad things get, I’m sure we all have at least something to be thankful for. Whether it’s that we have the life we’ve always dreamed of, or if the only thing we have is our breath. Every breath is worth being thankful for.

Today, I am thankful for freedom. I’m thankful for the birds that sing their glorious songs, for the little creatures that scurry through the fallen autumn leaves. I’m thankful for a mind that is able to learn and process. I’m thankful to be able to speak, to hear.

I’m thankful to have water and food, to have clothing and a place to live. I’m thankful to see and to touch, to walk, that I have both of my arms and hands that are not crippled. I’m thankful to be alive.

I’ve been so blessed by so many things that I tend to overlook in my everyday life. It’s a shame, really. Because what would happen if those things go away? I know that I would be thankful that I had the chance to have them at all, but what about now? I’d be missing out on enjoying the things I have while I have them.

I don’t want to miss out or be detached from the life that I have been blessed with. I want to be thankful for everything that I have, in the moment that I have it.

Everything’s uncertain. That is often a scary thought, but it shouldn’t just be scary. It should be a call to action, a call to appreciating all of the blessings in our everyday lives.

4 thoughts on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

