Patience And Waiting

All things come together at their own time. Sometimes I wish I could see into the future and really know what it has in store for me. I need to be patient, this much I know. But it’s so hard sometimes.

Image Credit
Image Credit

Patience IsI think there’s an interesting distinction there. Waiting doesn’t always equal patience. Actually, many times it doesn’t. Our attitude is the main distinction. Will we lose hope, will we be faithful and diligent? Eagerly waiting with the knowledge that all things will work together for our good, even if we can’t see our way out in the moment.

It’s not about what we see, it’s about what God sees.

This life likes to toss us around. Whenever we get comfortable, something else comes along trying to dash it to pieces.

I’m not trying to be negative here, I’m just saying that life isn’t easy.

Maybe I’ve been playing the game for too long. I just lost it, btw, and I was doing so good, too. Sorry…

Image Credit
Image Credit

Llamas make everything better, right?

Sleep, diet, and weather all have a profound impact on me. I’m learning this more and more as time goes on. Even though external factors can influence how I feel, am I not still responsible for taking care of myself enough to not allow those things to get in the way?

All ThingsPatience is a daily struggle for me. I’m always hoping, always waiting, always rushing. When maybe, maybe I’m supposed to enjoy this time right here and right now that God has given me. Maybe the waiting serves a greater purpose that I cannot understand in this moment in time.

I don’t see it all, I can’t. There was a time that I thought I did, but my life is so different now than how I would have imagined. Maybe I was naive, maybe I made some mistakes that lead me to where I am today. No matter what the reason, the fact is, I’m here right now.

God still has a plan and a purpose, even when I’m too blind to see it. I will often become absorbed and consumed with my own feelings of guilt or worthlessness that I ignore all the good around me, and all the good I have to give.

How is that right? It isn’t.

Oh selfishness, how I hate thee.

Anyway, I feel like I’ve been going on for too long. Right now, I struggle to see, but that doesn’t mean that I’m right. It doesn’t mean that God’s abandoned me, even if I’ve abandoned myself. I know that with time everything will all work out, and it is that hope and that faith that I cling to.

Image Credit
Image Credit
4 thoughts on “Patience And Waiting

  1. I’m an INFJ as well, and I happen to be waiting on some big things right now… That’s how I got to this post – searching for someone who understands. I can certainly relate to your feelings. Waiting patiently is so hard for me because 1.) I know what I want, 2.) I want it now. I trust God with everything in me, and I believe He will give me the desires of my heart, but it can be difficult to wait gracefully. I appreciate your thoughts on the subject – I need to enjoy these moments, I need to focus on the good things, improve what I can, and…allow myself to be happy. As an INFJ, and being away from the one person I deeply love, it’s very easy to fall into a pit of despair, so these reminders are golden. I hope you’ve gotten what you were waiting for!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As INFJ’s we’re so future oriented that I think gracefully trusting seems nearly impossible at times. God knows that, He’s there through it all, and He’s designed us exactly as he wanted us to be. We still have free-will though, so it’s up to us what we’ll do with it.

      I’ve fallen far too often thinking I could do it in my own will or my own power, but God is the only one big enough to handle it. He has a plan and a purpose for each one of us, it’s just hard to rest in that sometimes.

      I’ll be praying for you and everything you’re facing right now. It sounds like a heartbreaking situation. Keep holding on to that trust.

      We sometimes give God a laundry list of things to do, then wait around anxiously for Him to “do His chores.” I’ve found that those are the moments I get especially impatient. But we have this in between, and sometimes preparation time. That can be so valuable later on.

      Things are beginning to fall into place for what I was waiting for. It’s amazing to see it finally beginning to work out. And in time I trust that you’ll begin to find your answers as well. 🙂

      Thank you for your comment and for sharing with me. It always means a lot to know that something I’ve written resonates with someone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

