Thank You Mom

Heart
Image Credit

Today I am thankful for my mom, her wisdom, knowledge, guidance, strength, and understanding. She’s led through example, not through empty words and double standards. These are just a few of the things that I am thankful for.

How involved she was with us as children, making up games and fun activities for us, telling us stories, singing, and drawing. Setting aside time so that each of us felt loved and paid attention to. Celebrating Christmas in such a way that it’s more than just presents that matter. Her dedication and perseverance in homeschooling all of us, I know how challenging it must have been at times, but she did it anyway. Girls’ nights where I’d get to stay up late and paint nails and/or watch movies. Her amazingly creative mind, where she could figure out how to make something work (or make things from scratch) that I wouldn’t have had the first clue where to start. (Yes, I know I was a child, but still, I look back and am still amazed.) All the things she taught me how to do, I couldn’t even write a full list. Taking the time to teach me skills that aren’t as common of a thing cooking, sewing/quilting, knitting/crocheting. (Okay, maybe they’re coming back now, but as a kid… It seemed like something no one else knew how to do.) Her patience through all of it. Good and bad. The fun times, snow days and piles of leaves.

Always encouraging me to reach for anything that I want to be, no matter how impossible it may seem. (Not in a pushy way, in an encouraging, you can do it sort of way.) And now, she’s a trusted source for knowledge and guidance. Not because I have to, but because I respect everything that she’s been able to do; because there’s some part of me that would be terrified to have children because I’d be afraid I could never measure up to everything she did, and was, and is.

Looking at this list it seems like mostly random things from my childhood. There’s so much more than that. But these are some of the things I’m thankful for.

One thought on “Thank You Mom

Leave a Reply

