Black Friday

Image Found On Facebook
Image Found On Facebook

I’ve never understood the concept of Black Friday. Aside from the above, the idea of sitting outside waiting for hours to go shopping in hordes of people never made sense to me. That’s one of those things that I would do practically anything to be able to avoid.

Maybe it’s the introversion, or maybe it’s something else. I’ve never been too into shopping (except for a few select items), and when I do go, I try to avoid the crowds as much as possible, planning my trips out during a time when most are at work or something of the sort.

Heck, I won’t even go down an aisle half the time if someone else is in it, let alone a store full of people. Too much stress. Inferior Se overload much? I think yes.

I’m the one you’ll find dodging through the store, taking the long way around, or aimlessly staring at a single shelf or item until my desired aisle clears out and it’s safe to go lurking.

Okay, I sound like an social-anxiety-ridden stalker… And maybe in some ways I am.

I just don’t get it. I don’t think the sales would ever be enough to convince me to go through that. And, as the image said… Only in America would we go shopping for more the day after being thankful for what we already have.

Maybe we should reconsider the topic, or be a little more truly grateful for the things we have. Why the fixation on things, anyway? Aren’t there so many more valuable things in life?

I don’t know. These are just my thoughts on the matter.

Do you like to go Black Friday shopping? If so, is there something more to it that I’m just not getting? I’d love to hear about your experience (or thoughts, good or bad) in the comments!

Have a good one!

5 thoughts on “Black Friday

  1. I don’t even want to leave the house on Black Friday, or any other busy shopping day. Online deals are quite enough for me πŸ™‚

    “I’m the one you’ll find dodging through the store, taking the long way around, or aimlessly staring at a single shelf or item until my desired aisle clears out and it’s safe to go lurking.” <– This line made me laugh — it sounds so much like me sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

