Choices

Choices

I believe this is relevant to everyone, not only to women. So to everyone out there, the choices you make today shape the person you will be tomorrow.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t always live my life in the way I wish I did. I want to live in such a way as to become the person I want to be tomorrow.

Now, I’m a little more realistic than to think that those changes will happen over night. I know that they take time and patience, especially when a bad habit has become ingrained, but every little choice can become a habit. Good or bad. Every decision we make shapes us into who we are. It may be a little, or it may be a lot, but even the little things build into something greater.

I’ve been working on implementing changes in my life that set me on a path I wish to follow. I’ve spent far too long wandering around in the desert, chasing the hallucinations of other people in times gone by.

I don’t mean this in a creepy way, I really don’t. I’m just tired of striving to fit into someone else’s shadow. I’m weary and worn of trying to please the world. It’s an injustice to me. It’s an injustice to God. It’s an injustice to those around me.

God placed each and every one of us in a certain time and place for a very specific purpose. We may not understand it, we may not know what it is, and we might not even want to acknowledge or accept that there is a God who loves and cares for us. But He does just the same.

God created each of us with our own unique gifts and talents, and He intended for us to use them to bless the world and shine the light of His love. If we pass up that opportunity, well, we’re missing out on the greatest thing there is.

If we live in the shadow of someone else, we’re just a second rate copy of them, instead of being a first rate version of us.

I know how hard it can be to accept oneself, it’s nearly a daily struggle for me. Sometimes it causes separation between me and God because I feel that if I can’t accept me, then how could He. If others can’t… If we, as imperfect people cannot accept me, us, you, then I’ve wondered how a perfect God could.

We don’t have to strive to earn God’s love, we already have it.

That’s the beauty of it. He is perfect, even when we aren’t. He is kind and loving, even when we aren’t. He sacrificed Himself for us, even when we didn’t sacrifice ourselves for Him. We love Him because He first loved us. He is faithful, even when we are not.

This wonderful God that we serve has placed us here for a reason. Let’s not waste our time chasing after an image that was never our own. Let’s embrace the good in us, and let’s run the race, running toward an all loving God. Let’s be the change. Let’s rise above this world of conformity, and dare to become the best you, and the best me, that we can be. Let’s take steps toward being that person that we have the potential to be.

So I ask you, who are you becoming?

One thought on “Choices

Leave a Reply

