On The River In Which I Am Surrounded

I’ve had so many thoughts today, but I’m not sure that I’m ready to share. So many words written down on paper, yet none of them willing to leave their safe place on the page. They remain tucked safely in my mind.

When the world feels like it’s swirling around you in one big, glorious spiral of disillusionment, do you choose to give in, or just let go?

I haven’t decided yet.

My thoughts are so organized, so chaotic. One steady stream of a fluctuating river that is always changing course, but with the same intensity and direction it was originally destined for. All the same water, yet every bit of it different.

Image Credit
Image Credit

I feel like I’m lost somewhere in between. It’s so crystal clear and perfectly obvious, yet so incredibly difficult to grasp a single concept or idea long enough for it to make a difference.

This is what sleep deprivation will do, I suppose. I can’t say that I entirely mind; it’s been interesting. So many thoughts, so many realizations, so much peace. Yet I feel as though I’m forgetting something, not measuring up to something that I should be, not doing what I should be. I just can’t quite figure it out.

Then there’s the items on my grocery shopping list that I mustn’t forget. But oh what a drudge to have to leave the peace and solitude of my home.

Thankfully, it is warm and safe, and I can snuggle in for the night, letting all my cares drift away on the river in which I am fully enclosed.

Leave a Reply

