Set Apart

There are so many times I feel alone in this life and this world. Maybe it’s common for an INFJ. Actually, I think it’s really common for us. It’s not that we don’t value those around us, it’s just that they can’t truly understand where we’re coming from.

I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve said something that, in my mind, is so common and typical, and people will look at me like I have five heads and they cannot seem to wrap their minds around what I’m saying.

Then I’ll say the same thing to another INFJ, and they get it instantly.

I don’t think this only applies to INFJs. So many of us have times where we just feel so different than the rest of the world that we don’t know where we belong.

Some find strength in that; others find great difficulty. I think it’s hardest while going through struggles that no one else seems to understand. In our own minds, our own worlds, they make such perfect sense–or sometimes not. We just want someone to relate.

It can be so lonely sometimes feeling like you’re the only one, but there’s also a peace that accompanies that.

Image Credit
Image Credit

It is in these moments that we must remember the truth. A pure and simple truth that we were called to be set apart. That doesn’t mean that we’re left alone or cast away, it simply means we’re set in a different place than others.

Who cares if we’re freaks with different personalities, different life goals, different styles, and so on? Shouldn’t we embrace those differences?

Sometimes we try so hard to get to the other side, without realizing that the grass isn’t always greener. In doing so, we throw away our own unique gifts and talents.

We need to be strong in who we are in Him, set apart from this world. In it, but not of it.

I’ll admit that it’s hard to keep going sometimes when I feel as though I’m fighting this battle of life on my own, but we’re never truly alone. God is always right there with us, walking us through the muck of this life.

In that, we begin to see that our difference is sacred. A gift not to be taken lightly.

Set Apart
Image Credit
Leave a Reply

