2014 Wrap-Up Blog Challenge: Present Your Gifts

Image Credit
Image Credit

First, I want to say thank you to Linda (litebeing) for inviting me to take part in this challenge. She posted a wonderful challenge to wrap up 2014 with some end of the year reflections to guide us forward.

Litebeing was kind enough to extend questions to us, as well as the option to be as straightforward or vague as we wanted. So, for my contribution, I’ve decided to answer the main question: What were the gifts of 2014?

For me, 2014 has been a wonderful and tumultuous year filled with battles and open doors; a loss of control paired with a newfound understanding.

I’ve come a long way since last January. Such a long way that it hardly seems like it could still be the same year.

Image Credit
Image Credit

I started 2014 out in darkness and uncertainty. As the year progressed, I began to see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel I had been wandering through. I’ve climbed out of the pit I was in, and I’m beginning to once again feel the light of day.

So, what were the gifts of 2014?

The light is a huge one. I’ve found God’s love that wraps around me and consumes me, even when I’ve doubted and chosen not to trust in Him. He is faithful, even when I am not. I’ve learned that life isn’t always easy, or what we expect it to be. That there are some things beyond the scope of our understanding.

I’ve been able to see my role in the lives of others in a more positive light as well. I’ve stepped into being a light and a mentor at times to those around me, I’ve seen the thankfulness and joy that has resulted. I don’t pretend to believe that it was all my own doing, but I’ve become aware of the part that I’ve had to play in spreading hope to others.

One of the greatest blessings I’ve received is the realization that I don’t have to strive to be perfect. There are some who accept me as I am, and others who never will, I don’t need to change myself to try to please those who will never accept me as good enough.

I’ve allowed the coldness of my heart to melt, seeing that I’m not as toxic as they made me believe that I was. Abusers will take our weaknesses and use them to exploit us; that doesn’t reflect who we are, it reflects who they are.

I’ve learned that I can’t judge God based on the actions of others. He is kind and loving, no matter how poorly people portray Him, or how badly others twist His words against us, and Him.

In many ways, I’m not as in control of my life as I would like to be. I’m learning that that is okay, provided that my guidance is from the right place and I’m following the light. I don’t always need to be in control, but I do need to choose to trust.

I’ve learned that I can’t base my judgments of people solely on how badly I want something to be true. In doing so, I’m reclaiming my intuition.

I’m moving into 2015 with a hope that I didn’t have before. I’m carrying all of these gifts and lessons learned into the coming year, looking forward to all the blessings that are to come.

Thank you again, Linda, for this challenge; I’ve enjoyed participating. 🙂

Next post: Jamie from Sophia’s Children.

19 thoughts on “2014 Wrap-Up Blog Challenge: Present Your Gifts

  1. Hi Pearlgirl,
    Thank you for such a tender and thoughtful offering. Seems like you and I have shared some common experiences in our lives this year. I look forward to connecting more with you in 2015 and wish you continued light and peace.

    Linda

    PS please link to Jamie at Sophia’s Children at the end of your post: http://sophias-children.com/
    thanks again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So beautiful, Pearl Girl! Thank you for sharing your heart, courage, and gathered-pearls from this past year. Really heart-warming and encouraging. Wishing you well and joyful over this coming year. I’ll be reading … 🙂 Love, Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Melting our hearts is one of the joys of our experience… And understanding that we are magnificent and all powerful in our our own right no matter what others say… Living and being our best self.. I loved your open honesty and look forward to knowing you more this next year… Barbara x

    Like

  4. Wonderful post.. and I am so pleased that you have allowed the ice to melt… So many of us have shards which pierce our hearts.. So I am happy you have and it is good to hold yourself worthy as you move into 2015 with more strength..

    Happy to know you Pearlgirl.. and wishing you a Happy New Year.. with Blessings in abundance ..
    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

