Four Years

It’s been four years. Four years since a friendship ended that I thought would last forever. At the time I thought we were getting a fresh start, turns out I may never see that person again.

The past is behind me and I don’t spend much time on it, after all, there’s nothing I can do to change it and I’d much rather focus on a better future than throwing that away too. But there are times, and moments, that I do reflect on the past.

In this case, the trigger was a date. January 8th. I had forgotten about it until I saw the date, and I only remember the date because I was doing a 365 photography challenge and remember the photo from that day.

There’s something about images that permanently etch something into our subconscious so powerfully that we could never forget.

It was an early morning sunrise, beautiful pink and orange hues stretched across the sky. The beginning of something new. At the time I didn’t realize what that new chapter in my life would contain.

Maybe I did get my fresh start after all, it just wasn’t the one I was hoping for. All things happen for a reason. I truly believe that. I no longer have pain over that lost friendship, I now look back fondly at all of the moments and memories shared.

Regardless of our interpretation, or our current perspective there’s always something greater on the horizon. Sometimes we’re just too focused on the here and now to see it.

So four years later I look back, and this time I no longer regret.

12 thoughts on “Four Years

  1. I’m going through this at this moment in time. It hurts such a lot as its my best friend and we’re both introverts as well – so it probably feels as bad for my best friend as it does for me!

    This piece gives me a lot of hope though and thanks for sharing, it makes me feel better reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww… I’m so sorry that you’re going through this. It is such a painful and difficult experience, especially for us introverts who value each relationship even more. It does get better with time and the pain will fade into more positive memories and feelings. I hope and pray that you find peace through whatever may happen with your friend.

      Thank you so much for sharing with me, it was really encouraging to hear that I was able to help you find hope.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been through this aswell and its been 5 years for us. It was me who had to walk away after knowing this friend since childhood- sometimes life has no answers when we want them. But all i can say is that i dont really miss her, i assume i must have done the right thing…

    Like

    1. I’m glad you feel that you did the right thing. It’s a difficult situation no matter who does the walking. Looking back I can say that it was sort of a mutual thing, whereas I never tried again after that either. I’ve also gained more understanding and insight into the situation which helped tremendously in overcoming any hard feelings I may have had. Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Letting go is one of the hardest of lessons.. But looking into your horizon shows you look forward more than you look back…
    We have to acknowledge that every person comes to us for a reason how ever briefly.. And we each have something we give and leave with each other..
    Love and Blessings x

    Like

Leave a Reply

