Quiet Morning Reflections

Lately I’ve decided to take time each morning to center myself for the day. This consists of spending time alone with God and my thoughts, praying, reading, writing, stretching… Sometimes I’ll let my mind wander, other times I’ll direct my thoughts on a specific path.

I cannot even begin to explain what a blessing this has been to me and how much clarity it has added. In less than a week, I’ve already learned so many things about myself and am beginning to feel a peace that I have so desperately longed for.

I’m beginning to learn just how important the start of our day is. I had no idea that it would have this much of an impact on my general satisfaction in life, or the amount of freedom, creativity, and inspiration that would come of it. And even, dare I say it… Joy.

The calm of the morning is something that cannot be replaced or substituted. I’ve neglected it for far too long now. This isn’t the result of a New Year’s resolution, or a whim of the moment, but rather listening to that quiet voice inside that has been prompting me for oh so long. Maybe in some ways I know myself better than I realize, or maybe it wasn’t me who was speaking. Either way, I couldn’t be more thankful for my new morning routine.

Do you have any morning routines or rituals that help center you and keep you focused for the day?

15 thoughts on “Quiet Morning Reflections

  1. It is good that you have found this space in time Alex… The morning is such a wonderful time before the hustle and bustle of the day..
    I try to spend some time in the morning connecting to my day pulling in energy from Qi Gong exercises.. Somedays I may only spend 10 minutes instead of 20.. But by just breathing in deeper.. You feel so much better.
    Well done in your new routine..

    Like

    1. That sounds so relaxing. I’m glad you’re able to fit it in every day, even if it is only ten minutes, those ten minutes can make such a difference. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. It’s a wonderful thing, Pearl Girl, and it does make a huge difference in the quality of the day to begin and end it more intentionally … as you’re already experiencing and feeling! I do the same … most days. πŸ˜‰ I used to leap into the day, getting right to work. Then I switched to a more mindful start, making my coffee and then sitting in reflection, prayer, sometimes reading something spirit-aligned, sometimes journaling … sometimes a bit of all of the above! It makes a big difference; I notice it when I skip that morning ritual now. Thanks for sharing. Love, Jamie

    Like

    1. I’m going to try a night routine soon, I had been doing that for awhile and it made such a huge difference. Do you have anything in particular you do for mindful evenings? Your mornings sound so wonderful. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I would have to get up at 5am to fit in a ritual. It saddens me because work demands way too much from us. But if i had time my ritual would be Prayer and a cup of tea πŸ™‚ Also breathing in the fresh crisp air in the back yard.

    Like

    1. Aww… 😦 It is sad how much work takes away and how busy it keeps us. I hope you’re able to fit in some relaxation time at some point during your days? Even if it’s not first thing in the morning, I think it’s important to have something like that to look forward to. Prayer and tea are wonderful! πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  4. I love my morning rituals, and I’m so glad you’re finding time for one. Mine consists of prayer, Bible study while I eat breakfast and snuggle my cat, and about 15-20 minutes of yoga.

    Like

  5. I really enjoyed this post and reading about how this new practice suits you. I am so not a morning person and made some changes perhaps 12 or more years ago to establish a morning routine. Prayer, affirmations, spiritual reading, gratitude practice. I do some or all of the above. What remains a constant is time to just be and take in the morning.

    Like

  6. Well done you on creating that little space for quiet. It’s so important. I also spent ages trying to create a morning routine. I’ve finally managed to create few morning rituals and it really does make all the difference to my day … though it really took me a long time to find a routine that works.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

