Value

It’s amazing how different one day can be from another. Yesterday was so productive, today… not so much.

It’s easy to assign value to things, days, activities, even people. But how much are we missing out on that way?

Who’s to say that one day is really better than another? Or that one thing is more useful than another? Sure, some things are obvious, when we have deadlines or in the case of an emergency, but everything else kind of blends together.

Shouldn’t we enjoy every part of life? Shouldn’t we stop assigning value to certain tasks way above and beyond others? I understand that it’s sometimes necessary, but we need to take care of ourselves and take breaks sometimes too.

It can get dangerous if we take this concept of value too far. We’ll miss out on amazing things that we need, or amazing potential that we have. It’s even worse when we do this to people.

I’m still reminded of last week when I saw someone I had met before on the bus and didn’t recognize her. It was a powerful reminder for me, a revealing of a deeper flaw that I didn’t know I had. I can tend to show partiality.

The Bible says specifically not to do this, and yet there I was, doing it anyway. I know that sometimes we need to be careful, but I also believe that those instances are a separate matter.

I should be able to show kindness to everyone, whether I know them or not, whether I love them or hate them, whether we have things in common or we don’t.

I failed in this.

I think what I failed in most was being open. I still had a slight conversation, but I also tried to distance myself from the situation. I tried to hide. Ally reminded me of those masks again in this post.

It’s easy for me to withdraw and try to protect myself, but if I do that, what kind of impact can I even have on those around me? I can’t. If I want to be a light or a positive anything in someone’s life, I have to first treat them as if they have value, because they do. I can’t be the judge of their worth, it’s not my place to say, but it is my place to love.

6 thoughts on “Value

  1. Great reflections. Dovetails with the video I posted a day or so ago, in which the author George Saunders notes the one thing he regrets are failures of kindness… Those moments when a person was hungry for connection, and he responded… sensibly… This strikes me as a lifelong practice… I’ve felt this way more often than I would like to admit… It’s this innate distance we have to work sometimes to overcome…

    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for visiting and sharing. It certainly could be a lifelong struggle, but I think that if we’re aware of our prejudices, and other missed opportunities, it could help us be more aware of those in the present. Have a wonderful day. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

