On Fear And Faith

Faith
Image Credit

Oh fear, how quickly you step in during times of trouble. I’ve heard that the opposite of faith is not doubt, but rather fear. How true that is. I don’t know how many times I’ve approached situations with fear instead of faith.

I have never once had a good outcome when I’ve approached an obstacle with fear, I have, however, been more than satisfied when I’ve approached the obstacles with faith. I want to be that sort of person, a person who has faith, not only in the good times, but also in the times of trouble. There are times that it’s easier than others, but that doesn’t change the need in every situation.

As I said the other day, I’ve been thinking a lot about the importance of trusting God, even through the storms. Especially through the storms. He never gives up on us, even when we’ve forgotten Him. If only we would turn to Him, he would forgive and heal us.

Sometimes I want to be self-sufficient, and I want to try things on my own, without God’s help. But I’m stubborn. I need to be willing to let Him lead me, otherwise I’m headed for a ditch that I can’t escape. How foolish it is to wait until I’m already trapped and defeated to call for His help.

I’ve also judged God based on other people’s actions (or sometimes inaction). That isn’t right either. God is perfect, people are imperfect. How could I possibly judge a perfect God based on flawed and imperfect people? I couldn’t. Not accurately.

Jesus said not to fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But so often we find it easier to live in fear of people, because they’re instant. We see the consequences immediately, so we cower in fear, and, in doing so, we turn away from God.

Instead of living in fear, we could choose to trust God, and be joyful even through the trails. Perfect and complete. That is our destiny. Are we missing it by focusing on the ground when we should be focusing on our God?

Image Credit
Image Credit
4 thoughts on “On Fear And Faith

  1. I love this. Recently I’ve been meditating upon this verse, which connects with so much of what you have written here. Thank you for sharing.

    4 My heart is in anguish within me;
    the terrors of death have fallen on me.
    5 Fear and trembling have beset me;
    horror has overwhelmed me.
    6 I said, “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove!
    I would fly away and be at rest.
    7 I would flee far away
    and stay in the desert;[c]
    8 I would hurry to my place of shelter,
    far from the tempest and storm.” Psalm 55

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was just musing this morning about an executive at my company who leads out of fear instead of out of trust. It’s demoralizing at best and usually infuriating. I can’t imagine what it would be like to serve a god of fear. Can you imagine what he would say? Life would be flat and colorless, without spark or intrigue. Also, he would constantly remind you of how you screwed it up last time, so you should probably not try again. It would be paralyzing. Thank God, we serve and believe in Love at all times!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry that you have to work with someone who leads that way. I’ve been in those situations before, and they can have such a negative impact. I’m so thankful that the God we serve is loving and compassionate. That forgiveness and kindness, knowing He’s always looking out for our best interest helps so much when the road gets bumpy. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience. Have a wonderful day. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

