Encouragement

Image Credit
Image Credit

I was so encouraged by someone at church today. She met me exactly where I was at and spoke words that spoke straight to my soul, making me feel understood and valued.

It’s so easy to forget our worth. So easy to get caught up in all of our flaws and weaknesses that we don’t see any of the goodness that lies within us. Sometimes it takes another person on the outside, looking at us with a clear and honest perspective.

That’s not to say that there isn’t a time and place for accountability, but I think sometimes we focus so much on perfection that we forget the person.

Everyone has flaws and weaknesses, it’s part of our nature, but underneath all that (sometimes buried deep, deep below) is a person who needs love, compassion, understanding, and grace. So often we forget to extend that grace to ourselves. Or, I know I do.

I get so focused on everything that I’m doing wrong that I can hardly see what I’m doing right, then I’m shocked when someone points it out.

I have so many excuses, it could fill a whole book, so I suppose I’ll just leave it at that for now. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m so incredibly grateful for someone who took the time to show interest and express love and compassion.

Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

