Sensitivity

Image Found On Facebook
Image Found On Facebook

For years I wondered if something was wrong with me because I seemed a little more sensitive than most. I’ve since learned to embrace that side of myself, though I still have a difficult time placing value in it (in myself, sensitivity is something I usually appreciate in others).

I think we get too caught up in fear sometimes. We’re afraid of being judged, we’re afraid of being known. Because we know that if we were criticized it would hurt even more because of our sensitivity.

We somehow manage to hold such high standards for ourselves, while being fully willing, and able, to accept those same things in others.

If we only understood our real value, I don’t think we’d be able to beat ourselves up as much as we do. I loved how insanitybytes discussed God’s love for us in this post. I think she has some wonderful points.

It’s so sad to me as I look around and see people full of self-hatred and criticism, but then I realize that I do the same thing to myself. I haven’t internalized my own value. So many of us are in that place today, I think it’s especially true for those who are more sensitive. Remarks have much more of a sting.

It’s amazing how words can stick to us. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. Especially when someone we value says something that we perceive as negative, it can be really hard to let it go and not allow it to bring us down.

It’s so easy to give in to the lies that we are unlovable. Imperfect, yes, but perfectly loved by a Savior who valued us enough to die for us. We are loved.

Sometimes we just need to be real with ourselves and with our Creator in order to understand just how beautiful we really are.

6 thoughts on “Sensitivity

  1. I think you’re on to something, Pearl Girl. Three key words caught my attention in your post: Valuable, Loved, and Beautiful. Those are great starter words to describe how God views us. Maybe if we reviewed the list every day, we could stop being overly critical of ourselves!

    Thank you for a thought-provoking post, and for becoming a follower of my blog, From the Inside Out. I pray you’ll find the posts meaningful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. It means a lot to me. I’m always amazed to think of how God views us, and saddened at how we often view ourselves. Have a wonderful day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

