Writing Cap

Writing Cap
Image From Zazzle

I seem to have a writing cap. I can fairly easily reach about 30,000 words, beyond that I tend to lose momentum. Just off the top of my head I can think of over 20 different stories I’m “in the process of writing.”

Only one of them has gone far beyond the 30,000 word mark. A few have gone slightly above, but not by much. Does that mean that maybe I should just shorten them?

I’ve thought about combining some into a collection of short stories. That should be fairly easy from this point, I just need to throw in a few missing parts, do a bit of editing, and then they should be good. But then there’s the sequencing and deciding which ones should be included and which ones should not.

I have so many projects that I never finish and never follow through with. I’m not sure why that is exactly. It’s not that I completely lose interest. If I go back and read notes, or even little clips from things I’ve written I get excited about them again. That’s where I am today.

I’m really excited about a few different writing projects that I really want to complete. I’m going to work on them some if I can, but I think maybe I need to be a little better with my planning and time management.

I have such a wide collection of ideas, but sometimes I want to put them together and have something real. I feel like it’s hard to make someone else believe in something without having something to show for it. I do, however, have a few who work in the realm of ideas and I love those personal conversations about each of our individual projects.

Well, time to go try to break some of those limits!

Do any of you seem to have a writing limit? If so, do you have any tips to overcome it?

2 thoughts on “Writing Cap

  1. My stories often seem “finished” around 15,000 to 20,000 words. Not much a market for that length, so I’m trying to plan things out better to get more of a short-story or novel-length manuscript. For some of them, though, 15,000 words seems like what the story needs, so I’m thinking of releasing them as a collection.

    The first time I wrote a 50,000+ word manuscript was for NaNoWriMo, and I discovered I can get a longer story if I sit down first and map-out the scenes I need to write. By my third NaNo, I was using a sticky-note outline with a scene on each note. Right now, I’m going back and trying that for an earlier story that was unfinished, and it is helping me get past my writer’s block for that novel. I like being able to see my entire story arch in one place. It’s easier for me to find what’s missing or what needs taken out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds like an awesome idea! I’ll have to try the sticky-note thing. Thank you for sharing it with me. 🙂 I’d love to read a collection if you ever do decide to put one together. It’s amazing to see how much they can change over time too. I have quite a few between 10,000-15,000 and it’s always hard to figure out what to do with them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

