Busy Introvert Days

I love my church, I really do, but some Sundays I’m left completely worn out and exhausted. Today is one of those days.

I just want to crash on the couch, curl up with a blanket and a cup of tea, and fall asleep… Alone. I don’t even want to watch a movie or read a book, characters are still people. Maybe that’s a bit extreme, but it’s where I am right now.

There are days when I’m happy if plans are cancelled, there are times I schedule out for just doing nothing. If I’m at an event or party, I tend to stay toward the edge. I hate being the center of attention. I tend to be more quiet and reserved. What’s important to note is that these are all symptoms; they are not the cause itself.

I’ve found there to be a lot of confusion on what it means to be an introvert or an extrovert. Everyone has a bit of both. In fact, we need that in order to live balanced lives. Before we approach the topic, we need to understand that. There’s far too much focus on what people do, or what activities they enjoy, but that’s not the distinction between extroversion and introversion.

Being around people — even people I care about and feel comfortable with– drains me. This is what makes me an introvert.

It’s not about how I feel or what I do. It’s about how I gain energy, how I expend energy. It’s how we recharge.

Now, there are certain preferences that seem more common among one group or another, but it’s a little inaccurate to make a judgement over the enjoyment of an activity.

Introversion and extroversion are preferences. It’s an issue of which we lead with, not the sole determiner of who we are. We all need a little bit of both. We all naturally have a little bit of both. That’s where MBTI comes in… Along with all the wonderful nuances it holds. But that is a different topic for a different day.

For now, I’m just going to sit on the couch and spend some nice quality time alone.

I hope you’re all having a lovely weekend.

5 thoughts on “Busy Introvert Days

  1. This was me yesterday. I helped out at a garage/yard sale for most of the day. I ended up leaving a bit early once I became too overwhelmed to think properly. Fortunately, there were lots of people to help out, so I wasn’t missed. I totally crashed once I got home and spent the rest of the day in silence, I needed that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! It was wonderful, though I’m still feeling a bit drained today. I’m glad you were able to find the silence and solitude you needed. 🙂 It always helps when you know there are others around to help.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

