Day Twelve

12It’s day 12 of NaNoWriMo and I’m halfway there. Phew! This morning (most of the day, actually) I felt like giving up. I had hit a wall and wanted to just give my story a little more time to work itself out. Turns out that time isn’t always necessary.

I’m still pushing the story forward and interesting things have happened. As a huge bonus, rather than being burned out, writing actually energized and relaxed me. I was able to feel it again.

As introverts I think it’s sometimes hard to stick to the process of writing. At least for me, my characters become real and I get so burned out having to “interact” with them so much. At that point I just want to give up and take a break. It’s not that I don’t love them, it’s just that I can’t handle the constant contact.

I get the same way with reading books, tv shows/movies, and people in my real life, even those I love and care about deeply. It’s just draining sometimes. I think that’s why I give up on so many stories. I put them aside, walk away, then sometimes that feeling of being drained is so strong I never want to return. I don’t know, maybe I’m a freak.

Any other introverts feel drained by your characters after spending enough time with them?

 

4 thoughts on “Day Twelve

  1. In a novel I was writing four years ago, I had two characters (husband and wife) dominate every page on which they appeared. They were meant to be minor, supporting characters, but I never knew what they were going to say until I wrote the first draft of a given page. One of the first people to read a draft of my novel said she wished I had included the two of them more, but, frankly, they exhausted me with their spontaneity and energy. J.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for sharing! I find it so interesting that you’ve experienced the same thing. Some characters can definitely be more draining to write than others, but it’s interesting to see what they do just the same.

      Like

Leave a Reply

