Strong And Sensitive

cobweb-887290_1920

What if sensitive and strong are the same thing? After all, it takes great strength to be willing to feel. I feel like this is something I’ve said, or thought, before.

I said something to my therapist about feeling too sensitive and she said that might not be a bad thing, that maybe it makes me more sensitive to the things going on around me.

When I write, I tend to drift towards female characters that have a strong sense of strength and emotion. Very deeply connected to their thoughts and feelings, while also very strong and capable. Maybe it’s a reflection of how I want to view myself. Maybe there’s some truth in it.

Maybe sensitivity doesn’t have to be a bad thing, as so many of us were taught. Instead, maybe sensitivity is that quiet strength that guides us toward truth and a better path.

9 thoughts on “Strong And Sensitive

  1. I have an impression that saying that “being sensitive makes us weak” is like saying that “an exquisite hearing is a flaw”. An opposite of being sensitive is being insensitive and it has nothing to do with strength and weakness. Everything has its good and bad side – it depends of how aware we are of who we are, how do we use our capabilities and the situation in itself. It’s not something constant and black and white.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. At times my sensitivity to sounds and scents can overwhelm my ability to respond… but you are right–sensitivity is a strength, not a weakness, and learning how to deal with sensitivity can only make one stronger. J.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

