Gloomy Days

storm-clouds-426271_640

Dark clouds loom overhead and I’m tempted to just curl up inside alone, hide under a blanket and never come out. Fear has taken over my life and defines me. I want to run away because the idea of having roots terrifies me. Why? I don’t know.

The gloom of the day helps me to stay calm. It’s a reminder that not everything is always as it seems. Sometimes when depression creeps in we want to isolate ourselves, far away from the outside world. Sometimes that can be a good thing.

As an introvert, I need time to recharge, but sometimes the self-isolating can be harmful, destructive to who I am inside. It’s in those moments when I turn in on myself that I realize the deep underlying need for others. To be wanted, to be needed, to feel… Loved.

I miss writing. I miss just allowing my thoughts to flow out onto a page. I need to start doing that again. Every little step counts. We can’t lose sight of the path just because of the fog that fills our minds. It’s so easy to turn aside and be distracted, but what we really need is to focus on the light. Even on a dark and gloomy day, there’s always something we can find to hold on to that gives us hope.

We need to give ourselves permission to rest. It’s so easy to get caught up in all our responsibilities that we forget our responsibility to ourselves and to take care of our bodies and minds. I don’t want to forget the importance of being a steward. I don’t want to forget that being a steward includes taking care of my own mind.

So for now, on this dark and cloudy day, I give myself permission to rest.

6 thoughts on “Gloomy Days

    1. Thank you! He does know the address, but he never reads it. He knows some of it and tries to be understanding, but it’s complicated for him too. I’m in therapy now and that’s doing some good. Healing takes time and some days are better than others. Thank you for your support and encouragement. 🙂

      Like

  1. Having been through depression before, I understand how it can become so easy to isolate oneself. I usually try to make a date with a friend during those times so I don’t become too wrapped up in the muck and mire I may find myself. Even just asking a friend to come hang out under the blanket with you may be helpful.

    Take the time to rest. Take care of yourself. Know that you are loved, and that you are an encouragement to others which makes you needed. And thank you for your honesty. I pray you find the light and hope, and that you hold fast to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment, you have no idea how much it means to me! It’s so hard to find the motivation to not turn in on myself, but I know how important it can be to not allow that. I was able to spend some time with a few friends last night and it helped tremendously to refocus and point me back toward who I am and who I’m supposed to be and how God sees me. Thank you again for your love and prayers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

