Strength In Weakness

Sometimes when we’re broken and weak it’s hard to find the motivation to go to God. I’m learning more and more just how important it is to be honest in my struggles. Sometimes it’s easier to shove them aside and pretend that they’re not there and act like everything’s okay, but God sees our hearts.

The truth is, God sees and knows it all anyway. We need to be willing to cry out to Him honestly, even when we’re angry with Him, or our life situation, we need to lay it all at the foot of the cross.

26106-weak-strong-quote
Image credit

We’ll never know true freedom until we know the freedom of love in Christ. We need to mourn in order to be comforted.

I saw this article the other day on forgiveness. It’s not the generic, typical stuff that says to move on, forget and get over it. Trust again because you’re supposed to love. It was more than that, it encouraged us to be real.

I particularly loved this quote, “When people hurt us, God commands us to forgive, period. But that doesn’t always mean we reconcile with them. In fact, without repentance, complete reconciliation is unwise. …’Forgiveness involves a heart that cancels the debt but does not lend new money until repentance occurs.’”

It was exactly what I needed to hear.

After some abusive situations I’ve been so pulled by fear. It’s like there’s nothing left of me. And yet, there’s a part of me that’s been guilted into believing that I still have to give more, even though I have nothing left to give. But that’s not the truth, and that’s not love.

I feel like INFJ’s, maybe people in general, so often stay in a bad situation longer than we ought because we’re so torn between what’s right and what we “should” do. There’s always this part that wants to save and protect others so we let things slid until there’s nothing left of us. Then we break and cut ties and walk away.

I’ve been in therapy lately, it’s amazing how much that can change. I’m overwhelmed with the waves of emotions and pain that I’ve been suppressing for so long. It’s like I needed permission to feel. I doubted myself so much that I didn’t allow myself to feel the pain and loss.

Now, and I suppose always, I’m weak. I’m broken. I’m so thankful for a love that heals. I don’t need to hide these thoughts and feelings from God, I don’t have to do anything to earn His love, I automatically have it. I just have to be willing to ask.

4 thoughts on “Strength In Weakness

  1. You and I must be at about the same place in our relative therapy sessions. Blessings on your continued progress. So true–God’s power is made plain in our weakness. Also true that we forgive as Christ has forgiven us, but we do not force our forgiveness upon the unrepentant. (Pearls before swine, you know.) J.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Same to you on yours. Therapy can be challenging at times, but I’m hopeful that it’s just want I need for healing. I love that idea of not forcing our forgiveness on the unrepentant. It’s so very applicable.

      Like

  2. I love this verse and have found great comfort in it over the years. And I appreciate your raw honesty. God can handle us at our worst- He’s the One who designed our emotions, after all.

    I like reading Psalms sometimes when I need an example of unleashing my frustrations to Him, almost like getting permission to do it. David wrote so openly to God, about both the good and the bad. He didn’t hold back, and I think God appreciated that of him.

    Hoping your therapy continues to help you learn more about yourself and your relationship with the One who created you and loves you the most.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment.This is a beautiful thought. “God can handle us at our worst- He’s the One who designed our emotions, after all.” It’s easy to lose sight of that sometimes. Thank you for that. You’ve been such a blessing to me and I’m so thankful for you. Your words mean more than you know. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

