Art And Writing Thoughts

Oh how I wish I could paint! It’s such a lovely, snowy day, just perfect for cuddling up inside with a blanket and a cup of tea or hot chocolate. I could sit for hours, just allowing my mind to drift. How different would it be if only I could paint the images in my mind onto a blank canvas and into the world we call our reality.

I suppose that’s why I write. It isn’t always smooth, or beautiful, but it’s just one way to get these things that I see and feel out into the world; out beyond just myself, allowing them the ability to speak to others.

I’m thankful for this day, for this ability. I’m thankful for photography too. Art has a pure and simple way of speaking, something that cannot merely be captured in words, but has to be seen and felt. I only wish that I could capture those moments in my mind, and translate them to paper.

I’ve reached a bit of a writing block as of late. I’m not really sure what I’m doing or trying to say. I write myself in circles and never seem to get any further along. I plan to remedy that, but I also want to have the patience to give the story the time it needs to become complete, not merely strung together.

So for now I wait in the silence, enjoying the freshly falling snow while sipping a warm cup of tea safely beyond the winter’s cold reach. Thinking, and dreaming, of a world far beyond. Maybe, just maybe, someday that dream will become a reality.

Do any of you have pieces of art that inspire you? I’d love for you to share them in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Art And Writing Thoughts

  1. I definitely love writing and art. They are the best way for me to express myself. I gave up on drawing a while back though because the pictures never looked like what I wanted. But then I was introduced to a whole new art world where surrealism and symbolism got me into drawing again. I stopped judging my pictures and just let them be expressions. It got me through some tough times. I reckon give painting a go, or some sort of art and find what works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for that encouragement! It helps to know I’m not alone in feeling that way. I’m glad you were able to embrace those expressions of yourself. I think you’re right that I need to pick it up and not judge myself for what comes out. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  2. I used to paint. Haven’t picked up a brush in quite a while, though I still sketch occasionally. I was always frustrated by not feeling like the paintings adequately represented the images in my mind. Writing is a much more satisfying form of creative expression for me. I read a quote once (which I’ve never been able to find again) that went something like this: “If you think in images, write. If you think in words, paint.” If find that’s usually true for me.

    I second Juni’s comment — if you want to paint, give it a try and don’t worry about making it perfect! One of the most satisfying paintings I ever did was just slapping paint on a canvas. I wasn’t trying to paint anything specific, I grabbed whatever color I wanted, and I ignored my family asking what it was supposed to be. The abstract result isn’t on display anywhere in my house, but creating it was freeing and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your encouragement, and I love that quote! 🙂 Thank you for sharing it with me. Maybe that’s why writing feels so natural. I wonder what’s behind it. What a wonderful experience! I really do need to just try painting and let go of my perfectionism; that in itself could be very satisfying. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I dabbled in watercolors (pun intended) one summer while I was in college. I wish I could have taken a class to learn what I was doing. I guess it’s not too late to start. Meanwhile, I do what I can with words, as you are also doing. Thank you for the thoughts and feelings you share. J.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

