The Power Of Thoughts

coffee-1276778_640There isn’t much I love more than a hot cup of tea on a cold and rainy day. It’s so soothing, so relaxing, and all my fears wash away. I love calm moments like this when I’m warmed from the inside out; sometimes that can make all the difference.

I think we often underestimate the power of our thoughts. They take us where they will, and we so often follow their lead. But what if he harnessed their power in a purposeful and more directed way. What if we controlled our thoughts rather than letting our thoughts control us.

Whether we are empowered or disempowered depends heavily on whether we’re strong on the inside. If we are secure, we cannot be shaken. I don’t say this is of our own doing. In fact, sometimes we’re completely powerless against them. But God calls us to take every thought captive, and to be transformed by the renewing of our minds. It wouldn’t have been said like that if our thoughts and our minds weren’t such a powerful force in directing our lives.

The amazing thing is that we get to choose. We can give into all the thoughts and negativity, or we can resist it. This is something I’ve battled for years now… Something I continue to battle. I find it so easy to forget that I don’t have to be swallowed up by my thoughts, so hard to remember that I can have a say.

Depression and anxiety have no quick or easy fix. But I’ve found that keeping my eyes on things above has helped. Even when I’m deep in that pit, or wandering a path of shame and confusion. When I faithfully turn my thoughts above, those things I want no part of begin to fade away. Their grip weakens. He who is in us is greater than he who is in the world.

Sometimes we can’t find solid ground, but we can usually find something solid to hold onto, even if it is just a cup of tea that warms our souls when we watch the rain pour down.

One thought on “The Power Of Thoughts

Leave a Reply

