Just Say Thank You

I really struggle with accepting compliments. I tend to brush them off, or diminish myself or what I did. But if I do that, I’m not allowing myself to receive the love that others are pouring out to me.

One of my concerns has been that I don’t want to come off as egotistical. I don’t want that at all. But what I’ve been doing is yet another way of doing that… As if I’m above the compliments of others… Or my perspective is better than theirs. If they say they like something and I put it down (criticizing myself) I’m also unknowingly criticizing them and their tastes. How could I do that? Isn’t that unkind to the person who is trying to show me kindness?

And how would you feel if you said something nice to someone you loved and it unleashed a swirl of self-deprecation? I’m sure after a while, because you love that person, you’d stop complimenting them because you’d hate to see them beat themselves up.

So just take the compliment already. You’re not doing anyone any favors by rejecting. And so what if it comes off a little egocentric, stand confidently in yourself and who God made you to be.

I’m slowly learning to just say thank you. It’s a bit uncomfortable at first, but it’s slowly becoming more natural.

Do you struggle with accepting compliments and saying thank you? I’d love to hear your experience.

14 thoughts on “Just Say Thank You

    1. That’s heartbreaking and very brave of you to learn despite your past. It can be such a challenging process to go through in any situation. Best of luck as you work through it and come to accept the wonderful person you are. Thank you for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Our own self perception can be so challenging to overcome. The good and bad news is that it’s all in our own minds. It sometimes makes the struggle harder, but is also encouraging that we don’t have to stay stuck. Thank you for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve always struggled with this. I avoid it and usually turn it around and give the other person a compliment. So just saying thank you is definitely something I need to work on.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve noticed lately that I do that a lot too. Then I wonder if I’m seen as ingenuine because I’m only saying something nice to “pay back” what they just gave me. I’m not accepting their kind words with grace and as the gift that they are, I’m throwing them back. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

