Spring Day – The Shift

Today was such a beautiful day for a walk! I love being out in the fresh spring air. Birds singing, children playing. The little peepers even came out when it started getting dark. Oh how I love that summer sound! It brings me right back to my childhood and all my days outside. I lived for being outdoors.

I’ve been distanced from that part of myself a bit after moving to the city, and now that I’m somewhere in between, I find the familiar peace and comfort once again.

It’s funny how you don’t realize how much you miss something until it’s gone and you get it back again… Or how bad a situation was until you’ve left the scalding pot then jumped back in again.

Distance can do that, give us perspective, I mean. Sometimes it’s hard to focus on what’s going on around us while we’re in the midst of it, until we step back and see it as it really may be, closer to how it probably is.

Those moments can be so filling, so satisfying. Or so completely mind bogglingly breaking. But either way it causes a shift in us; in who we were, in who we are, in who we will be. We may not always notice its effects immediately, sometimes it’s a slow and gradual change, but it’s a shift nonetheless, and it alters and changes us.Β  It defines us in a new way, sometimes in a way we don’t fully understand.

Until one day when it’s made clear. Then the things we wondered why about for so long suddenly make sense.

I can’t say why things happen the way they do, but I can say that there’s a path to healing and redemption. I’ve seen a little glimpse of it, days like this bring that to me, like the veil between the heavenly realities and our earthly one was pulled away for just a moment, and I was able to see behind the curtain.

6 thoughts on “Spring Day – The Shift

  1. I know where you are coming from. I think I’m currently going through a ‘shift’. I feel like I’ve lost something, and I feel sad about it even though part of me thinks that the something I’ve lost wasn’t very good for me. I felt a glimmer of optimism, even in the face of complete uncertainty and not being sure what the future holds because I’m not quite sure who I am now, but I’m hoping that the new me will be a bit better in some way. It’s very strange !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That shift can be so unsettling sometimes. Best of luck as you travel through the uncertainty and I hope you’re able to figure out who you are. It’s so challenging to have that torn away from you, but we can always hope for the future. Thank you for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

