My Thoughts On Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day weighs heavily on my heart, this year and pretty much since becoming an adult. I know it’s supposed to be a day to honor those with children, but is this really the best way to go about it?

I have a wonderful mother, I am very thankful and grateful for her, her sacrifices, and her love. But there is so much more than just that. I shouldn’t need a day to remind me to tell my mother I love and appreciate her. And to those who grew up in abusive homes, or are still wrestling with an abusive woman that some would call “mother” this day just serves as another twisted knife in an already guilt inducing situation.

There are so many woman hurting, and all Mother’s Day does is remind them of that pain. Of loss. Be it past or future. Where is our compassion? Where is our love?

As a society, we typically see motherhood as the standard for a full and happy life. It’s changing slowly, but especially for the women who long for and desire children, yet cannot have them (whether physical or otherwise), or have lost them, this day just serves as a reminder of that empty place, and writes a label of shame across their, our, foreheads.

Not all mothers are loving. Not all mothers are living. Not all mothers are obvious, some carry the hidden scars in their hearts. What about these women? And even men. Have we forgotten our call to love the broken?

8 thoughts on “My Thoughts On Mother’s Day

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your sentiment. This day is very bittersemisweet for me. Not only have I lost my own loving mother over a decade ago. But I too am one of those many women who has not been able to have children. But funny enough…people assume I have children. And today the lady at the coffee counter wished me a happy mother’s day. I just thanked her. It was easier.

    Thank you for the post. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who thinks/feels on this topic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

