Known

How do I relax? How do I let it go? It seems the harder I try, the harder I fall.

Perfection, in a word, is something unattainable. It is not what I seek or desire, I just seek to be known.

I want to be understood for me, for who I am, all the chaos and beauty that is.

I’m not looking to be told that I’m always right, I’m just looking to be told that there’s some value in what I say or how I feel.

To be seen, to be heard. And yet, the idea of being known frightens me more than anything else in the world.

If we take off our masks and allow ourselves to be seen, then we’re making ourselves vulnerable to the opinions of others. Sometimes we don’t think of those words as opinions though, we take them to heart. Those little ideas can embed themselves deep in our hearts and minds, both good and bad.

If we close ourselves off to everything, then we’re missing the opportunity to be known and truly loved for who we really are. This also requires wisdom. If we reveal what is sacred to just anyone, then we’re giving the keys and the power to destroy us to someone who may not be trustworthy.

When we know someone will use our inner treasures to destroy the face behind the mask, yet we take it down anyway, all we get is pain. But when we allow ourselves to be seen and known by safe people, it is then that we are truly loved.

11 thoughts on “Known

  1. Maybe we shouldn’t try so hard to let it go. Maybe we could let it be instead and see how letting go happens on it’s own, without any effort.

    And if we’re taking the mask off… could it be just for ourselves? Does something sacred really needs our protection? Isn’t it defending itself enough? Won’t it prevail sooner or later – just as everything sacred?

    (Just thoughts).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To be understood- one of the greatest hopes most INFJs hold dear, and one of the most difficult for us to attain. So many factors complicate it- trust, love, kindness, empathy, not to mention the fact that even we have a hard enough time understanding ourselves. I’m unsure if I am more scared of the darkness that I am capable of, someone finding out about that potential and judging me, or of the incredible artistry that could be known if only I would hold nothing back.

    I hope you find people with whom you can be yourself and be known!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I couldn’t agree more! I love how you put that. “I’m unsure if I am more scared of the darkness that I am capable of, someone finding out about that potential and judging me, or of the incredible artistry that could be known if only I would hold nothing back.” One of the most difficult things to discern. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  3. It’s so hard to behave like other people, to let the barriers down. It isn’t that I dontvlike other people or don’t want to get to know them, it’s just that it takes time and yet other people seem to hit it off straight away. I need time to think.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I can so relate to that. I’m baffled by how quickly others seem to gain a connection. Then again, I’ve had a few extra special people come into my life who I’ve connected with far more quickly than I’d expect. I think it’s important to know ourselves and think about who we’re letting in. Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

