Hand Lettering

Hand-Lettering-Blue-StrokesI touch my pen to paper and scratch one line, and then another. Over and over it goes until the page is filled with little tally marks, each one representing a small piece of my journey. I had never thought of hand lettering before, and then I found it and realized all the many potentials and possibilities of it. I feel like it encompasses many different interests and desired skills and compacts them into one. I love that feeling. It’s free. It’s liberating, and it’s exciting.

I had no idea how hard it would be to write from my shoulder instead of my hand. I had no idea how deeply ingrained consistent pen pressure was for me. I didn’t realize it would be such a struggle. I feel like I’m back in school again. Learning to write for the first time.

Have any of you ever tried hand lettering? Any tips to make the learning process easier?

4 thoughts on “Hand Lettering

  1. I’m doing real calligraphy for the first time with a Crayola marker, but I’m not sure I could help you because I realize now that I’ve always hand lettered (I just didn’t know the term for it) and this has always come easily to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently got some of the pens for this, but have yet to figure it out. In a few weeks, when our foster child returns home, I’ll have a bit more free time to learn. I love that there is always something new to learn though! No matter our age, we can regain that sense of newness and wonder at learning a new skill. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that too! It’s so great that there’s always something more to learn. πŸ™‚ Good luck when you try it. I’m not very good, but I’ve certainly enjoyed playing around with it. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

