Failure And Organization

stack-letters-447579_640I feel like I’ve failed miserably lately. I haven’t been keeping up with everything I need to do, and I haven’t even used my free time well because I’ve been stressed over not being productive. (For the most part, though I have found some peaceful and quiet moments.)

I know those thoughts don’t help. We have to focus on the right things. There are many ways to do this, but sometimes it does take being intentional and also making a point of being grateful for the things we do have and have accomplished.

I haven’t read blog posts from all you lovely people in a while, and I really miss it. Sometimes we need to just slow down and take a break, and sometimes we need to try something a little more serious, like a schedule.

I hate schedules, but I love routines. I’m trying to incorporate aspects of both and I hope it helps, we’ll see where this goes. I think if I start setting a timer for myself and getting the things done that a dread doing first off, then I’ll have that weight off my shoulders to go on into the rest of the day, instead of stalling because of the dreaded project that I don’t want to face.

I like to keep my life at least semi-organized. I know I function best that way, but sometimes a bunch of little things slip through the cracks. Things like my bullet journal have really helped with that.

What methods do you use to help motivate yourself and stay organized? I’d love to hear from you! πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Failure And Organization

  1. I used to have charts or lists with all the things I wanted to do in a day. Now that I have more free time, though, I don’t do that. It’s more like a mental list now. When I was at uni, deadlines were my biggest friend to get things done. So I self-impose deadlines for myself if I’m really getting stuck.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing this – I know I have definitely felt this way too. I am very similar, in that I need to have a routine and the need to be organised. For myself, I list out the things that I’d like to accomplish by the end of the day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I’m in the mood — all techniques work. When I’m not in the mood, none of them do. I discover that I often put things off just because their time has not come or because what I was trying to do was not the right approach or wasn’t going for the right result.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There are really moments when things become overwhelming and as much as we want to be productive, we end up exhausted even before we start doing things. That’s pretty much understandable as an INFJ where we need our alone time to recharge and get going again. I’ve had these frustrations for a number of years (resented myself for that) but only recently did I accept its okay to pause and not keep up with a lot of things for a while. When I feel these moments are about to come, I just sit it out, let myself get distracted, have a cup of coffee or talk to a friend. After some time, I find myself listing things that I need to do and just start. You don’t necessarily need to finish all of them in one day, too. Hope you have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a wonderful way to approach it. I love the idea of relaxing to recharge and even connecting with friends. I think accepting “flaws” can be one of the most difficult things for an INFJ, because we just want everything to be perfect. haha, but that awareness of ourselves is so important. Thank you for sharing! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. to stay organized I try to use my phone as much as possible. I put stuff on my schedule, I add reminders, i make my grocery list on there and anything else! It’s so much better than making a list somewhere else and then forgetting it. To stay motivated..ugh , that’s a hard one. No one can be motivated 100% of the time. I either read inspirational quotes, try to think about how good it will feel when stuff is done, OR I just take some me time and hope that motivation comes back eventually lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those are all great ideas! I’ll have to try them out, especially the quotes. Sometimes thinking about how good it will feel to be done with it is the only thing that motivates me to get anything done. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Its taken me a while to figure out a method that works for me. I typically write out a list of everything I need to get accomplished in the day. As I complete the tasks, I cross them out. Anything I don’t get done that day gets moved to the next. Its been a great way to keep track of pending tasks and ensures I don’t forget things. I also try not to be too hard on myself if I don’t finish the whole list. I hope you have a great weekend πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I hope you enjoyed your weekend too. Lists are great, aren’t they? πŸ™‚ That’s a great system and how important to take it easy on ourselves if we don’t get everything done that we planned. That can be so hard sometimes. Have a wonderful day! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lists are good, but they need to be combined with an attitude to finish one job before starting the next job. I spin my wheels when I’m trying to do three things at once, but when I can focus on one thing, I’m more likely to move forward and accomplish something.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

