Retrieving Creativity

road-163518_640Creativity comes in all different forms, various types of visual art, writing, music, even gardening or making a meal. It’s all about creating something in a unique and personal way, with thought and purpose behind it, though sometimes it’s completely free-flowing and comes so fast we don’t even know what to do with it or what it represents. Our subconscious has a way of weaving things in that we don’t even realize, but when we recognize it, that’s a really cool feeling.

After I was diagnosed with PTSD writing was really set on the back burner for a while, at least, my novels were. I had just finished NaNoWriMo the month before, so I suppose it was good timing. I’ve continued freewriting, creative writing, and journaling, but that was about it. I’m starting to step back into the novels, dipping my toe in the stream. I don’t feel as attached or connected as I did before, and I’ve shifted to another creative focus.

Recently I’ve begun morning pages once again. Writing a couple pages every morning has cleared my mind and allowed me to be more productive on any creative focus I might have. But my heart isn’t as into writing novels as it used to be. Yet, these books, the stories and characters, deeply matter to me. I don’t want to leave them sitting on a hard drive, or locked away in a file on my computer. I want to set them free.

The past month or so has been really challenging, but it’s also pressed me forward and deeper into who I want to be. I’m regaining my creativity, and stepping back into the worlds that I’ve created.

I don’t know how long I’ll be able to stay engaged, but I want to give my characters the chance that they deserve.

Creativity is a journey, we’re never going to be in the exact same place twice. This is true for every moment of our lives, but creativity seems to change and morph and grow more quickly than other areas.

What is your experience with creative slumps? Or jumping back into creativity after it’s been a while?

8 thoughts on “Retrieving Creativity

  1. I can relate to this so much. I’ve had some epilepsy-related issues recently, and it’s put me in a big’ol slump. I gave it time, continued with my morning pages and did plenty of people watching at the coffee shop (always seems to spark some ideas). There’s no rush!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww… I’m sorry to hear you’re going through that. What a great way to spark ideas! I love people watching (in a non-creepy way, of course). 🙂 Thank you for your comment and encouragement! I hope you’re able to get out of the slump soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I started a short story earlier this year that didn’t turn out as I expected. One of the main characters changed her name and her appearance, then refused to let the story end where I expected it to end. I let her run with it and was approaching novella length (20,000 words) when I ran out of steam. So I let it sit for six weeks and checked on it again. Although I thought the plot was unresolved six weeks earlier, it turned out that I had stopped at a good point. At least the other main character had finally reached a turning point, and the conversation that was supposed to lead to the next event provided closure instead. I have a lot of cleaning and polishing to do, of course, but the main story is there. Sometimes just leaving a story on the back burner for weeks or months is the best thing to do. J.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. What a great writing testimony! It’s so cool when characters write themselves and take the story exactly where it needs to be. It’s awesome how sometimes our subconscious knows exactly what to add or what our story needs even when we think it’s something else. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

