Washed Clean

crayons-933521_640Who am I when the world turns black? When the world I’ve known has fallen to pieces, what is left of me? I’m not always living according to who I am. I want to, but I don’t. I suppose it’s like Paul said, “For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.”

I want to be more than this. I believe we were designed to be more than this. Sin entered the world and things fell apart, but we’re still here. God didn’t leave us alone or abandoned. He still let us live, even if the world is less than what He designed it to be.

We can take an expensive painting and scribble all over it with crayon. That doesn’t change what the painting is underneath. That’s kind of how we are. Maybe a little messier than we could have been, but still there, buried beneath the pain and our mistakes in life.

The good news is that God can heal. He carefully takes us in and washes all those marks away until we’re restored and made whole again. I am so thankful for God’s grace filled love.

Ups and downs will come and go, but God’s love will never change. How wonderful it is to rest in that knowledge, even when it doesn’t match exactly how I feel.

What are you thankful for today?

7 thoughts on “Washed Clean

  1. I’m thankful for joy. Joy spoke to me through your post and I am passing that on to you. We were loved by a great God even before he formed us (“…you who formed me before I was born…”) and that stands firm no matter how much or little we accomplished and no matter how much or little we stand back up after we fall. He is ever ready to give us the grace of knowing His indescribable, unspeakable joy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m thankful for a book I was given to read that is helping me in this time. I am thankful it reminds me I am complete even when I feel a need and a lack. It’s reassuring that in this that I have everything in Christ, in him I lack nothing, in him I am complete. Very thankful for this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

