Self-Care, Calming Down

tray-984042_640I sit here on the couch, snuggled in a blanket with a warm cup of tea nearby. The last bit of sleepiness from a restless night has yet to wear off and I find myself comforted and more at peace than I’ve been in a while.

Yesterday was a long day, this whole week has been long. It hasn’t been bad, just busy. I’ve been out a lot, around a lot of people, and I’m just finding myself completely drained. Last night I was worn down enough that I decided I just needed some time to be an INFJ. And so I did. I went upstairs, sat in a bungee chair, had some tea, and just wrote. Then I read a little, which I haven’t made time for in quite a while.

It was so calming and relaxing. I need more of that. It’s so easy to get caught up in the business of life and not make time for the things that make us who we are. It’s easy to neglect ourselves. We say that we don’t need it, or that we shouldn’t, but self-care is hugely important. And it affects all those around us too.

I’m learning, slowly, to honor my own needs. It’s a challenge at times, and sometimes when things start piling up (sometimes literally) and my to-do list starts to grow into an unmanageable seeming length, I feel like I can’t afford to take the time for myself, but that’s exactly when I can’t afford NOT to.

What is something small you can do today to take care of yourself? What things do you find calming and relaxing?

I hope you all have a wonderful Saturday. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Self-Care, Calming Down

Leave a Reply

