March On

flower-646127_640March is here. The weather can’t seem to make up its mind. One day it’s sunny, the next it’s snowing, the day after that it’s 60’s, then freezing. We can’t change the weather, we just take it as it comes. Some types might induce a grumble, others excitement, but we really just take it as it comes.

What if we viewed our feelings the same way? Some days are happy, some are sad, there are times where we feel lonely, times we’re overwhelmed and can’t wait to get away to a cozy little place by ourselves. What if we didn’t let our feelings define us, but instead focused on a specific goal, on specific values, and lived according to those? Would it make a difference?

Maybe we don’t have to label some feelings as good and some as bad, they all indicate something about us, about our inner workings, about our situation, and about what things mean to us. We could learn a great deal if we were willing to accept the bad as well as the good. There might be a seed sprouting just beneath the surface, almost ready to break through. We don’t have to shove it away, we should learn from it, all of it. And we learn to accept and continue to march on.

I think it will always be a process, and we’re always learning how to observe and accept our feelings. It isn’t always easy, and sometimes we aren’t even aware of it. Do you struggle with understanding and accepting your own feelings? Or trying to push them away and/or letting them influence your behavior? I’d love to hear from you. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “March On

  1. March has had really odd weather so far this year!

    I always do my best to live by my goals, but sometimes my feelings are too off-whack that I just sort of give in to them! I’d be far more productive if I didn’t let my feelings get to be so much, but they are what they are and they are a MASSIVE part of who I am, so I’m cool with letting them take the reign more than my goals do. I just think of my feelings as a roller coaster. I can feel extraordinary when I wake up in the morning – bright, lively, healthy, full of energy, optimistic… But then the same evening, before I go to sleep, I could feel down, severely anxious, my thoughts whizzing around like mad, very unsatisfied with how my day went or with how my life is in general, worried about things, unexcited for the day to come…

    Knowing that my feelings fluctuate a lot makes it easier to cope when I’m feeling terrible!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing your experience and perspective! πŸ™‚ That’s an awesome point that knowing how our feelings fluctuate can make it easier to cope when going through a rough patch, so true! Those roller coasters of emotions can be challenging at times, but it’s so great knowing we’re always going to get through it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve learned over the past few years to embrace the emotional fluctuations rather than to fight them. Allowing myself to see emotions as real and created by God helped tremendously. God grieves over His people, states He is jealous in Old Testament, is wrathful when His creation has been so incredibly hateful, loves with a zealousness only the One who created all things could possess, and can empathize as a parent who has lost a child. I had to realize that emotions are not the problem, but what I get emotional over may need some tweaking. πŸ™‚

    I went through a pretty big loss in July- our foster child of 17months returned home (praise God for their family reunification!) after having been marked as an adoption case for us for 5 months. In the past, I would have fought those emotions, pretending to everyone including myself that I was fine, but preparing and allowing myself time to grieve helped so much. It hurt so deeply, but by allowing myself to feel the grief, I was also better able to see the beauty and joy in other things along the way because I wasn’t wasting my efforts trying to ignore the pain. Not sure if that makes sense.

    I do find myself apologizing to my husband often for my moods though, as he tries to hang in there with my fluctuations. He’s so forgiving and gracious, and I’m very grateful for that. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a wonderful and beautiful truth about God and how He created us. Thank you for sharing! πŸ™‚ I can’t imagine how difficult and heartbreaking it was to lose your foster child, even though you rejoice at their family being brought back together. Everything you’ve said makes sense. I’m so glad for you that you’ve been able to feel the grief and find the beauty and joy in things along the way. God is so faithful! Your husband sounds like he’s been a huge blessing too! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Almost everywhere I have lived, one of the sayings was, “If you don’t like the weather, just hang on. It’ll change in a few minutes.” Some days that could be said of my feelings as well. For years I tried to ignore my feelings and just accomplish whatever needed to be done. A good counselor has helped me to embrace my feelings–bad as well as good–rather than ignoring them. Yesterday I was jittery all day long, and I never figured out why. Today is calmer. J.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. What an accurate saying! Thank you for sharing your experience. πŸ™‚ That’s so awesome that you’ve found a counselor who has helped you embrace the bad as well as the good. It’s easier said than done!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

