One-Third

Tomorrow we’ll be one third of the way through the year. I can’t believe how quickly this year is flying by. I know we often talk about time that way, but this one seems particularly bad, especially this past month.

As I’ve been going over my plans and goals for the coming month, it’s a busy one, and I find it a bit overwhelming, but it’s also making me realize just how much time I waste, and how ineffective my current mode of operating is.

I’m trying to change things up this month, by going a little easier on myself, to release the pressure. I don’t have to do everything all at once, small steps are okay. After all, every change is made one step at a time, some are naturally bigger or smaller than others, but every one of them is important.

Another thing I’m trying to do is make my goals more actionable. Lately my goals could basically be summed up as, “do something.” Then, in my overthinking introvert brain, I spend all my time pondering things like, “What does something mean?” “Which something is more important?” “What other ways could I interpret something?” “What are the potentials of something?” “Do I really want something, or something else?”

Inevitably, I get very little done. Then I wonder why.

But this year is already a third of the way through, if I continue on the path I’ve been taking, I’m effectively making the same mistake over and over every single day. I don’t want to live like that. I want to learn from my mistakes so I can make a better future.

I feel stuck and stagnant a lot of the time. But, maybe, all it takes is a few simple changes. I’m going to try something different this month and see how it goes. If I’m sinking anyway, I don’t have anything to lose if it doesn’t work, but everything to gain if it does.

I think it’s important to evaluate what we’ve been doing, and reevaluate whether the course we’re taking is the right one at this time. Of course, we need to be careful not to jump ship the second the waters get choppy, but it’s also important to be honest with ourselves when what we’re doing isn’t working.

Do you make monthly plans/goals? Do you have a method that works well for you? I’d love to hear about it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “One-Third

  1. I can be a perfectionist, which can be crippling when it comes to finishing projects. So I give myself a deadline and promise myself the project will be done by then, whether I’m completely satisfied or not. A lot of things I do professionally have to be done on a deadline anyhow. As to monthly goals–no, not really. I have some weekly goals and some seasonal (three-month) goals, but that’s about it. J.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh perfectionism. It’s the perfect enemy to productivity sometimes. That’s a great idea to set a deadline and force yourself to be done whether or not you’re fully satisfied with it. Deadlines can be great motivators.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

