Being Real And Unmasked

I’m one of those people who, call it naive or ignorant, thought I was fairly comfortable being my introvert self around others. “I don’t have an extrovert mask!” Yes. Yes I do. I do have one and I wear it a lot. It’s just that it’s so draining that I’m left silent.

It was easy to deceive myself because I’m so quiet in groups. I’m the person in the corner who never speaks unless spoken to, and even then I dash out of the conversation fairly quickly. (Yes, I have issues/problems.)

But then I was welcomed into a group of introverts. And the whole introduction thing went completely different than usual. I didn’t feel like I had to act or speak a certain way, I was just… Me. Now, I didn’t bare everything all at once, but I was certainly a lot more willing to be vulnerable than usual.

Then I realized what a blessing this blogging community really is. I have this safe place on the internet where I can go and share my thoughts and views, and whether anyone reads it or not, it’s the one consistent place in my life where I feel like I can just be me, regardless of what’s going on, though I don’t often use it to its full potential.

So thank you. Thank you everyone who has read my blog, who continues to follow along on my journey no matter how vague or repetitive I am. Thank you for accepting me for me, and encouraging me that who I am, introversion and all, is enough. Thank you for being that safe community where I don’t have to wear a mask, even if I’m unaware that I have one.

Isn’t it funny how we’re so much more in tune with others than we are with ourselves? I can tell when someone else is being inauthentic (at least in person) and yet when it comes to myself, I don’t even see my masks or know which ones I’m wearing. But how thankful and relieved I am when I find a group, or even a single person, who allows me to be who I am. And, as a side note, in these instances, I tend to talk a lot more. Ironic, isn’t it?

Do you have a place where you can just be yourself? Do you find that you talk more when you’re not wearing an extrovert mask?

12 thoughts on “Being Real And Unmasked

  1. I have one friend I can be completely myself with. I sing in front of her, which for me, is a big deal. I definitely talk more when I’m around introverted people. Mostly because I don’t feel pressured to speak and so I feel more comfortable opening up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can so relate to that! Singing somehow just feels really personal and vulnerable. I’m so glad you have a friend like that. Good friends and being accepted and understood can make all the difference. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “when it comes to myself, I don’t even see my masks or know which ones I’m wearing”–that’s me. I’m aware of some of them. I can talk to a group of a hundred people with more confidence than I have after the talk when one of them approaches me with a question or a compliment. I’m not sure when I know whether or not I’m being genuine. J.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As I have got older I find it easier to be myself, but sometimes that’s not so easy because I’m not really sure what I feel or think about something. Then others judge you , weak, dipsy, inauthentic etc and the mask comes out. But definitely the company of sensitive introverted types is so much easier, less needs to be said or explained so more can be talked about. It’s taken me a lot of years to work that out!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing your experience and insight! It’s definitely hard to navigate when we ourselves don’t fully know or understand where we’re at and what we feel and think. It’s also amazing what an impact words can have on us. Trust is so huge, you can’t be unmasked when the other person isn’t safe. So thankful for the ones who are.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

