Breathe In The Blank

My mind is blank. I keep searching for words to say, but they never seem to come. It’s like my mind is trapped behind a wall that I can’t access. I look for the door, but if one exists, I do not know how to find it.

I’ve been caught up in busyness and distraction. I definitely need to find more balance in my life, it seems like without it I just drift and get trampled when things catch up with me.

It’s funny how differently people can react. When I get overwhelmed, I tend to just shut down. I think this could be the HSP part of me, or maybe it’s just my introversion in general. Some withdraw, some create, some need comfort and reassurance from others, some need space alone to process.

A busy week ends with a busy weekend. I need to take a moment to slow down, catch my breath, and just breathe.

Do you find it difficult to concentrate after a lot of busyness and social interaction? What are some of your favorite ways to recover from a busy week?

6 thoughts on “Breathe In The Blank

  1. It takes time to ‘come down’ from all that. So even though I need some time alone it can be hard to relish it and enjoy it! Getting absorbed in a good book or film helps. A bath and an early night if I’m tired. If it’s left me with anxieties, writing about it helps. Chucking the family out of the house and doing some cleaning – sad but true. A clean and tidy house is more relaxing but it gets you through that transition from busy to quiet! What do you do?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. All those things sound lovely! 🙂 Even if you do need to send your family out for a bit to get some cleaning done… a clean house really does make a difference. Thank you for sharing. 🙂 They’re all excellent ideas!

      And I couldn’t agree more. This time I seem more unable to enjoy it than usual, very unable to focus on anything or think clearly, but too restless to fully relax either. Writing and walking are the two biggest things for me I think. I also like putting music on, sometimes cleaning the house, and watching something that fits my mood.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Being alone with the things that I know and I like helps. Like watching a favorite movie, or reading some book again.

    Nature helps. Whether it’s taking a walk, paying attention to my plants, or spending time with my cat.

    Tidying an apartment is a nice thing too – making an order around helps to make an order in the head.

    Generally, small things are the most helpful, when life get’s too big to deal with.

    I hope you’ll recover soon. I’m sending good thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nina! 🙂 All excellent activities. I love what you said there, “Generally, small things are the most helpful, when life gets too big to deal with.” So true. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

